Eligibility for an award is limited to a teacher or counselor in a high need area in West Virginia. The following is a list of subject areas of critical need and the geographic areas of the state in critical need and are eligible to apply for 2022-23. Click here for map.

Counselor: Fayette, Greenbrier, McDowell, Pendleton, Wood, Wyoming, Wayne
Elementary: Berkeley, Fayette, Jefferson, McDowell, Wyoming
Mathematics: Berkeley, Logan, Mercer, Raleigh, Wyoming
Special Education: Berkeley, Cabell, Calhoun, Clay, Doddridge, Gilmer, Hampshire, Hancock, Hardy, Jackson, Jefferson, Kanawha, Lewis, Lincoln, Marion, Mineral, Monongalia, Monroe, Morgan, Preston, Raleigh, Randolph, Roane, Tyler, Upshur, Wayne, Wetzel, Wyoming
Science: Clay, Mingo, Raleigh, Wayne