Participants may complete residency and/or fellowship training in West Virginia or in other states. The service obligation begins within six months after the participant completes training. It requires that participants practice at an eligible site one year for each year they receive the award (a maximum of 4 years). Participants are responsible for securing their own practice site.

Eligible sites include any specialty and any site located within the shaded area of the Eligible Service Areas Maps.

Additionally, participants may practice any of the following primary care or shortage specialties at any site anywhere in West Virginia:

  • Addiction Medicine
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Family Practice
  • General Internal Medicine
  • General Surgery
  • Geriatrics
  • Internal Medicine/Pediatrics
  • Neurology
  • OB/GYN
  • Pediatrics
  • Preventive Medicine
  • Psychiatry (includes Addiction, Child & Adolescent, and Geriatric)

In the event the service obligation is not completed, the participant is responsible for repaying the award amount received plus five percent interest accruing from the date training is completed or terminated.