The Promise Scholarship may only be used at the West Virginia colleges and universities listed below. The Promise Scholarship cannot be used at out-of-state institutions. Funds may only be used toward an associate or baccalaureate degree program at an eligible institution.

Four-year Institutions:

  • Bluefield State College
  • Concord University
  • Fairmont State University
  • Glenville State College
  • Marshall University
  • Potomac State College of West Virginia University
  • Shepherd University
  • West Liberty University
  • West Virginia State University
  • West Virginia University
  • West Virginia University Institute of Technology

Two-year Institutions:

  • Blue Ridge Community and Technical College
  • BridgeValley Community and Technical College
  • Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College
  • Mountwest Community and Technical College
  • New River Community and Technical College
  • Pierpont Community and Technical College
  • Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College
  • West Virginia Northern Community College
  • West Virginia University at Parkersburg

Private For-Profit Institutions:

  • West Virginia Junior College – Bridgeport
  • West Virginia Junior College – Charleston
  • West Virginia Junior College – Morgantown

Private Not-For-Profit Institutions:

  • Appalachian Bible College
  • Bethany College
  • Davis and Elkins College
  • Salem University
  • University of Charleston
  • West Virginia Wesleyan College
  • Wheeling University

Ineligible Institutions:

A student who was awarded but decides to enroll at an ineligible institution may regain eligibility by enrolling in an eligible institution no later than one academic year after being awarded. The student must meet the eligibility standards for a first year scholar, including a 2.75 cumulative GPA and 30 credit hours for a two semester award (15 credit hour for a one semester award). See Renewal Requirements for more information.