Medical Specialities and Underserved Areas

The medical specialties that qualify for loan forgiveness are the following:

  1. Family Medicine/Family Practice
  2. General Surgery
  3. Internal Medicine
  4. Obstetrics/Gynecology
  5. Pediatrics
  6. Psychiatry

Other specialties may be approved as a result of periodic needs assessment or from individual requests with supporting documents of an existing need.

Please click here to view a map of the approved designated underserved areas in West Virginia.